Burn bans

The 11 Arkansas counties depicted in red, including Columbia County, are under bans against outdoor burning.

Bans against outdoor burning spread to 11 counties in South Arkansas on Monday.

Columbia County Judge Larry Atkinson was among the officials issuing local bans, which include Columbia and all surrounding counties except Union.

There was an outbreak of thunderstorms, mostly in Southeast Arkansas, early Monday night but rainfall was not expected to be sufficient to reverse recent dry conditions.

magnoliareporter.com has recorded 32.82 inches of rain since January 1. It recorded only two-tenths of an inch of rain in August, and no rain since August 6.

Last week’s National Drought Monitor report listed most of extreme South Arkansas as abnormally dry.

CLICK HERE to read more local news on our website. Tell your friends and family that thanks to our advertisers, they can read news for free on our website.

Email us at news@magnoliareporter.com

CLICK HERE to find us on Facebook.

CLICK HERE to follow us on Twitter @Magnolia_Report


Click an emoticon to express your reaction to this article.


Recommended for you