Southern Arkansas University has honored its staff with annual awards.

Members of Southern Arkansas University’s non-teaching professional and support staff were recognized for excellence and years of service during a virtual meeting recently hosted by Dr. Trey Berry, president.

Receiving the Mary Anna King Whitehead Support Staff Excellence Awards were Eunice Walker (professional) and Phyllis Austin (support). Walker is director of Student Support Services and Austin is a fiscal support technician.

The Mary Anna King Whitehead Awards are the highest honors given to SAU staff each year and recognize those who have achieved an outstanding level of professionalism and performance.

Marcela McRae-Brunson, director of financial aid, received the Alvin and Irene Brannon Staff Diversity Excellence Award. This award was established by the SAU Diversity Initiative Task Force and recognizes a staff member each year who has contributed to promoting, supporting, and improving diversity and inclusion as a core component of valuing people at SAU.

Those receiving the SAU Spirit Awards this year included: Drew Glover, director of online learning; Amanda Hanson, director of Health Services; Shelly Pletcher, University Health Services; Cami Riggins, University Health Services; Jonni Carter, University Health Services; Brian Logan, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Abraham Tucker, biology department chair; Dr. Daniel McDermott, assistant professor of biology; Rhaelene Lowther, assistant professor of art and design; and Dr. Jingyang Huang, assistant professor of HKR.

The Spirit of SAU Award revives the tradition of honoring staff who exhibit exemplary Mulerider spirit.

Staff receiving Service Awards for 10 years were: Sheryl Edwards, Victor Duke, Amy Plummer; 30 years: Gary O’Dell, Dr. Donna Allen; 40 years: Sam Biley, Pam Riggins.

Click an emoticon to express your reaction to this article.


Recommended for you